What we do

Your Council

What is a Community Council?

There are 735 community and town councils in Wales, representing this tier of government closest to the people. They cover approximately 94% of the land area and 70% of the population of Wales. 

The communities they serve range from small rural settlements to large towns and their budgets vary accordingly.  However, what they all have in common is serving their communities and acting to improve the quality of life in their locality.  This is achieved through exercising a range of statutory powers and duties. 

Community and town councils are responsible to their local electorates for delivering a wide range of services and for the provision and upkeep of local amenities. 

Each council is made up of elected members, or in some cases co-opted members.  In Wales there are approximately 8000 community and town councillors, who represent the interests of the community they serve as a whole.  They are recognised as having a role in providing the voice of the citizen in the development and delivery of public services in Wales.

We use cookies and similar technologies to enable services and functionality on our site and to understand your interaction with our service. By clicking on accept, you agree to our use of such technologies for marketing and analytics. See Privacy Policy